CELEBRATION OF INTERNATIONAL DAY FOR BIOLOGICAL DIVERSITY-2022

Rain Forest Research Institute, Jorhat (Assam) celebrated International Day for Biological Diversity-2022 on 21st May, 2022 at Bahona High School, Bahona, Jorhat in association with SHEWA, an NGO of Bahona area of Jorhat. The Programme was started with a plantation programme at the School premises. Scientists and other Officials of RFRI, Teachers and Students of Bahona High School took part in the plantation programme. Two competitions were held on the occasion. Drawing competition was conducted in two categories: Lower (Class IV to VIII) and Upper (Class IX &X). Hundreds of students from different Schools of Jorhat participated in both the categories. Winners were Shri Anirban Bora (1st), Ms. Ishani Puzari (2nd) and Shri Binoy Pratim Bora (3rd) in Lower Category; and Shri Subhashis Saikia (1st), Shri Manas Pratim Bora (2nd) and Ms. Annesha Saikia (3rd). There was overwhelming response to Quiz competition which was conducted by Shri Manas Jyoti Hazarika. Best three teams comprised of Ms. Bidisha Kakoty and Shri Rituraj Bhattacharyya; Shri Chinmoy Gogoi and Shri Indujyoti Dutta; and Shri Animesh Keot and Shri Mrinmoy Sarma.

Shri R. K. Kalita, Scientist, RFRI delivered a presentation on Biodiversity and other related issues. He started with the genesis of biodiversity celebrations by various countries in the world. He dealt with various types of biodiversity, the benefits of biodiversity, the biodiversity hotspots, and threats to biodiversity and the possible measures to protect biodiversity.

Public Meeting cum Prize distribution ceremony was organized where Dr. R. S. C. Jayaraj, Director, RFRI, Jorhat graced as Chief Guest. He addressed the students and mainly appealed them to protect the nature and maintain the biodiversity. It was also graced by Dr. P. K. Dutta, Principal, Bahona College; Shri R. K. Kalita, Scientist, RFRI; Shri Punaram Saikia, Head Master, Bahona High School; Shri Hemen Kumar Saikia, President, SHEWA.

Certificates were distributed to the Winners of the Competitions.